My Serenade

It may not have been overlooking water...but it was just as beautiful.
It may not have been overlooking water…but it was just as beautiful.

Oct.25, 2008 5:30pm-7ish

My Serenade

After we returned from Olvera st. we rested for a bit before Tony let me know that we would have to be leaving soon. The day before he had asked if I would let him take me out after we got back. I said “Yeah, That would be fun.” I kept asking him where we were going but he wouldn’t tell me! He said it was a “surprise”. BOO!!!! I wanted to know immediately!*laugh* But anyways, we said goodbye and left. Along the way I realized that he was driving in the direction of Veterans Park. I thought, ‘Ok, were going to go hang out at the park like we did one time. AWESOME!’ I like just walking and talking with him because it gives us a chance to fight in a playful way on how differently we see things.

So, we pull into our usual spot and I jumped out of the car shouting “*gasp* Its the evil tree I fell out of!” See…The last time we were at the park I decided it would be an awesome Idea to climb this tree I had climbed before. Well, when Tony got there I tried to get down and wouldn’t you know it…I fell out of the Damn thing! I got a couple of cuts but I was laughing so hard on the floor I didn’t even notice them! Tony looked horrified but then chuckled lightly as he noticed that I was all right. Oops! Back to my story- Tony opened the trunk of his car and took out a blanket and handed it to me. He pointed towards the park and said “pick a spot.” I gave him this blank ‘wha?’ look but he just smiled and went back to the trunk. I started walking up the small hills and looked back to see Tony walking behind me with a couple of bags. I never imagined that he had planned a picnic for us. We talked a bit on the way up until I just plopped the blanket down. “Here’s a spot!” I proclaimed as I just gave up on the search. He unfolded the blanket and began the task of taking out whatever he had in his bags. I sat down and watched him take out Crackers, cheese, Little pieces of ham(i think), marshmallows, chocolate syrup, whip cream and Sangria Soda! Now, long ago I had discovered the Sangria Soda thanks to my dad and ended up getting terribly addicted to it. It’s just sooo delicious! >_< So when I saw Tony had bought it, needless to say, I was excited! He placed the snacks on paper plates and poured some of the soda in small clear cups. I had never felt more special.

We talked a bit and you know what?! I ended up learning a new yummy snack! Tony placed a marshmallow on a ritz cracker then topped it off with whip cream and then the chocolate syrup! This is Tony’s rendition of a smore, only yummier and with no heat needed! It was Amazing! Thank you, Tony<3 After a little while Tony turned to me and said “I have another surprise for you, But I have to go get it out of my car.” I was thinking ‘More?!’ Before Tony got up to go get it he looked at me kinda shyly before saying “But, you have to close your eyes so you can’t see it until I get here.” I pouted and gave a mini protest but of course I agreed. I had my eyes covered until I felt him sit down on the blanket again. He sounded even shyer as he said “Ok, you can look now.” I took my hands down and saw Tony sitting in front of me with a beautiful guitar. I looked at him a little confused when suddenly he said “I’m going to sing you a song. But don’t make fun.” I was so overtaken with different good emotions that all I could do was nod and say “ok” at that point. I looked at him as he only looked down and strummed a few strings trying to psych himself up for it and would whisper “ok” every little once and a while. He tried to start a few times but always stopped out of nervousness. I thought it was the cutest thing I had ever seen but I didn’t want to say anything to make him more nervous. After a few minutes he began to play. My heart jumped in my chest as I recognized the notes. Tony was playing “Hey there Delilah”. Then the next moment he was singing it, only the lyrics to it were changed up to include my name in it and be more about us. He stopped a few times because I could tell he was very nervous but I never said anything or made a move because I didn’t want to mess him up. Halfway through he just stopped playing and looked down. He apologized for his nervous playing and assured me that he had practiced. I could never accept an apology from him for what he was trying to do! I loved it! I crawled over to him and just pulled him into my arms. I couldn’t help holding him and being thankful for what he did for me. My feelings were overflowing and I hoped that he could feel them and know just how strongly he had affected me. Tony then let me know that he had actually done this song as his final project for speech class. I was so proud of him! He told me of his adventure as he had to learn how to read the music and play on a not so good guitar that would cut his fingers. I was beyond overjoyed. After we spoke a bit about it he seemed to have gathered his courage up again and went to give it a second try. This time he took it slow but it still sounded Beautiful to me. He messed up a few times but I really didn’t care. I only focused on what it meant to me. When he finished the song he put his guitar down and came over to me. I was full of happiness, love, and something else that I could never describe. It was so much that all I did was wrap him up in a hug!

Tony, you made me feel more loved than I have ever felt in my life ❤ Thank you, really thank you! And maybe one day I’ll be able to hear the song at full speed and I will once again be in awe at your awesomeness.

One Response to “My Serenade”

  1. Chibi Kaijuu-sama Says:

    I got a sweet tooth reading this! >_< Awww que cute!

Leave a Reply

